THE ENGINEERING OF KRIBI PORT MULTIPLE OPERATORS

Since 07 July 2018, the consortium has been managing the multi-purpose terminal on a two-year subcontracting agreement.

 

Known as KRIBI PORT MULTIPLE OPERATORS, in the acronym KPMO, this group is made up of nine (9) companies with full Cameroonian capital namely: Transimex, APM, Groupe 2m, Sapem, 3T, Cam-Transit, Copem, Star, and Global outsourcing (GOS). Selected by the Port Authority of Kribi to implement the development of the Multi-Purpose Terminal, the members of KMPO, have proven experience and expertise in logistics and are key players in the Douala port area, where they represent approximately 70% of the volume of goods handled at the Multi-Purpose Terminal. For several years, KPMO members have been resisting economic hardship, and have managed to maintain themselves and preserve thousands of jobs for Cameroonians. These companies have played a decisive role in the implementation of the government's policy to combat the "cost of living", by keeping all transit costs constant or even decreasing them in order to avoid uncontrolled inflation in the hinterland.

The direct labour contract that gives them access to the operation of the Kribi Multipurpose Terminal opens up a maximum traffic capacity estimated at 1 million tonnes/year, depending on the handling conditions. The challenge for PAK, in the context of the direct operation of the said terminal, will therefore be to optimise the this facility’s operations in order to ensure the simultaneous functioning of all the terminals, avoid equipment obsolescence, maintain the attractiveness of the Port of Kribi and prepare as well as possible the selection of the new successful tenderer.

International best practices

With a 16-metre draught and a 265-metre dock, the Multi-Purpose Terminal can accommodate conventional vessels from 25 to 30,000 DWT. If we take into account international best practices to establish the average tonnage per day worked, we could be around: 1200 Tonnes/day.

It comprises of the following handling equipment:

  • 1 berth;
  • 4 hands per ship;
  • 2 shifts/day;
  • 300 T/shift/hand;
  • 3 to 4 days of operations.

With one to two weekly ship calls, the average traffic that PAK can handle during the two years of operation ranges from 400,000 T to 500,000 T. Therefore, given the flexibility of this terminal, no potential traffic should be ruled out. Moreover, despite the public service function of the Terminal, PAK has chosen not to prioritise some traffic at the expense of others based on their profitability. However, the option is to bring variety to the contemplated operations in order to gain experience and prepare for its eventual transfer.

Video Gallery

Picture gallery

L’INGENIERIE DE KRIBI PORT MULTIPLE OPERATORS

Le groupement gère, depuis 07 juillet 2018, le terminal polyvalent sur un contrat de sous-traitance devant durer deux ans.

 

Dénommé KRIBI PORT MULTIPLE OPERATORS, en sigle KPMO, ce groupement est constitué de neuf (9) sociétés à capitaux entièrement camerounais qui sont : Transimex, APM, Groupe 2m, Sapem, 3T, Cam-Transit, Copem, Star, et Global outsourcing (GOS). Engagé parmi les premiers à la mise en œuvre du développement du Terminal polyvalent du Port de Kribi, les membres de KMPO, jouissent d’une expérience et d’une expertise avérées dans le domaine de la logistique, sont des acteurs incontournables de la place portuaire de Douala, où ils représentent environ 70 % du volume de marchandises traitées au terminal polyvalent. Depuis plusieurs années, les membres de KPMO résistent aux aléas économiques, et réussissent à se maintenir et à préserver des milliers d’emplois aux camerounais. Ces entreprises ont joué un rôle déterminant dans la réalisation de la politique gouvernementale de lutte contre la « vie chère », en maintenant tous les coûts de passage constants voire à la baisse afin d’éviter à l’arrière-pays une inflation incontrôlée.

Le contrat en régie qui leur donne accès à l’exploitation du Terminal polyvalent de Kribi ouvre à une capacité maximale de trafic est estimée à 1 million de tonnes/an, selon les modalités de manutention. Le défi du PAK, dans le cadre de l’exploitation en régie dudit terminal sera donc l’optimisation opérationnelle de l’outil afin d’assurer la mise en exploitation simultanée de l’ensemble des terminaux, éviter l’obsolescence des équipements, maintenir l’attrait du Port de Kribi et préparer au mieux la sélection du nouvel adjudicataire.

Meilleures pratiques internationales

Avec un tirant d’eau de 16 mètres et un quai de 265 mètres, le Terminal polyvalent peut accueillir des navires conventionnels de 25 à 30 000 DWT. Si on prend en compte les meilleures pratiques internationales pour établir le tonnage moyen par jour travaillé, on pourrait se situer autour de : 1200 Tonnes/ jour.

Ses équipements de manutention sont les suivants :

  • 1 poste à quai ;
  • 4 mains par navire ;
  • 2 shifts/jour ;
  • 300 T/shift/main ;
  • 3 à 4 jours d’opérations

Sur la base d’une à deux escales hebdomadaires, le trafic moyen que le PAK estime pouvoir traiter lors des deux années de régie se situe entre : 400 000 T et 500 000 T. Dès lors, étant donné la polyvalence dudit terminal, aucun trafic potentiel ne doit être écarté. De plus, malgré la fonction de service public du Terminal, le PAK choisit de ne aucunement privilégier certains trafics au détriment d’autres en fonction de leur rentabilité. L’option est cependant d’apporter de la variété à l’exploitation projetée afin de gagner en expérience et de préparer sa cession future.

Pour en savoir plus: http://www.kpmo.cm/